Register Log In
    About Teams Events Rankings Alumni NCWA Gear 6:12 Project

Chok­ers Hon­or Their 2021 – 22 Award Winners

| Scott Farrell

The Grays Harbor Wrestling program recognized the 2021-22 season's individual and team achievements at its recent banquet. The women's program placed third at the Junior College Freestyle Championships as well as third at the NCWA Championships with 12 All-Americans. The men's team won a sixth-consecutive Northwest Conference championship and later took third at the NCWA Championships while setting a school record with eight NCWA All-Americans.

Head coach Kevin Pine earned both the women's and the men's NWC Coach of the Year Awards. The men's program finished with an 8-2 dual meet record.

"This was a fantastic season. The team had a great work ethic and attitude on both the men and women's side," Pine said. "Everyone was striving to improve throughout the season and it all came together for us right at the end and it was some of the best we competed all year.

"But we can do better, and the goal is to go after the title next season for both programs. With the success we had this spring and the quality of student-athletes that the coaching staff have been recruiting for next year we are expecting we will be in the mix."

The team has continued competing and finding success in the off-season as well with the Choker Wrestling Club. The men had two placers at the U.S. Open in Las Vegas and most recently a third-place finish at the U23 World Team Trials in Ohio. The women also had two medalists at the U23 World Team Trials in Fort Worth, Texas.

Most recently Grays Harbor College held the Charlie Awards where Sione Halo and Tatum Pine were selected as the Male and Female Athletes of the Year.

Here is a summary of the Chokers' team awards:

Most Valuable Awards -- (men) Elijah Gandert and (women) Grace Miller and Tatum Pine;

Most Inspirational -- (men) Sione Halo and (women) Tatum Pine;

Most Improved -- (men) Karter Kares and (women) Andrea Jones;

Newcomer of the Year -- (men) Elijah Gandert and Donnie Krissak; and (women) Marissa Riojas;

Coaches Award -- (men) Saul Rocha and (women) Dallas Gomez and Grace Miller;

Hammer Award -- (men) Desmond Bowers and (women) Jocelyn Fierro.