NCWA Honors 147 Student-Athletes on All-Academic Team

May 07, 2018 | Scott Farrell

DALLAS - The National Collegiate Wrestling Association announced its All-Academic members for the 2017-18 competition year honoring 147 student-athletes from its men's and women's divisions.

The NCWA awards its top academic achievers each season, both as individuals and as teams, with membership to its All-Academic Team. Each NCWA program submits candidates for the awards, who are then selected by the association based on their grade-point averages and academic performance.

Brigham Young led all schools with eight honorees. The Cougars also won the top spot in the NCWA's All-Academic Team awards announced last month. Central Florida, second in the team academic listings last month, tied with Maine for second with six individual honorees. The Apprentice School and Liberty, which each placed in the top five team academic awards, tied for fourth on the individual list with five honorees each along with Yale. Utah State, Wayne State College, Florida, Rutgers, Emmanuel College and Clemson each earned four spots on the All-Academic individual list.

The complete list from the men's and women's divisions are below, listed by school along with the athlete's name and grade-point average.


Jesse Slocum

Alfred State
Patrick Lehman
Ryan Thierman

The Apprentice School
Jeffrey Driscoll
Dan Henson
Shakeem Lassiter
Colton Messick
Jeremy Mosly

Alex Colpo

Brigham Young
Jacob Childs
Weston Larson
Edward Maisey
Jacob Martin
Jacob Proffit
James Stubbs
Tyler Weiss
Tanner Williams

Cal State Northridge
Seamus Sullivan

Central Florida
Ethan Ahrens
Edison Garcia
Jesse Gaudin
Timothy Sakow
Matthew Seymour
Justin Trinh

Central Washington
Logan Blitstein

John Huff
Rhett Plemmens
Timmy Samec
Noah Wright

Colorado State
Kendal Davis
KaMele Sanchez

George Andrews
Anthony Tripodi

East Carolina
Peter Becher
David Crespo

Emmanuel College
Emery Cline
Alberto Perez
Dylan Purcell
Hunter Quinn

Connor Murray
Tristen Roderick
Tyler Sage
Raymon Troncoso

Florida A&M
Cednet Jean

Florida Gulf Coast
Joseph Caraballo

John Cruz
Jerry Holloway
Charles Jackson

Grand Valley State
Nick Reddy
Jacob Sobeck

Grays Harbor College
Andy Gonzales
Josh Pine

Erika Trujillo

Christopher Woods

Husson Univ.
Shannon Ripley
Connor Winchenbach

Iowa State WC
Daniel Eslick
Costas Hatzipavlides
Tyler Kutz

Dominick Johnson
Sam Karel
Joshua McIlhenny
Joseph Scott
David Smith

Tyler Everett
Samantha Frank
Hilary Merrifield
Cooper Power
River Robertson
Rusty Wilson

Maryland WC
Mason Brestle
Devin Hyman

Maryland-Baltimore County
Tyler Rendina

Joe Fallon
Conrad Lavoie
Zachery Woods

Matthew Chun
Frank Soucy

Brendan Rice

Marina Goocher

Middle Tennessee
Richie McClendon
Austin Wells

Midland Univ.
Erin Scheidt
Welina Tong

Mathew Becker

Missouri Univ. of Science and Technology
Truman Craig

Montana Tech
Jake Hobbes

Mott Community College
Arthur Payne

Trent Miller

New Hampshire
Joshua Gomes

North Texas
Scott Akers
Alex Perez

Ohio State WC
Tommy Bowles

Penn State WC
Brock Lieberman
Dan Ritz

Penn State-Fayette
Gunnar Lynch

Pittsburgh at Bradford
Colton Davis
Mitchell Dowd

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Chris Howes
Jean-Souvern Rioux

Richland College
Yaritza Arteaga
Dustin Basham

Rowan Univ.
Eric Wollerman
Hunter Reese

Rutgers WC
Nicholas Accetta
Marcus Martinez
Greg McCrystal
Anthony Tamayo

Springfield Tech Community College
Springfield Bui

Alec Cohen
Tegan Durishin

Andrew Welch

Ryo Onoue
Luciana Schement
Tony Vo

Texas-San Antonio
Will Sever

Texas A&M
Taegn Denning

Texas State
Janice Russell

Texas Tech
Jeff Ptak

Taylor Workman

Sam Lee
Guillermo Ojeda

Andrew Lopez

Utah State
Drew Linton
Brayden Llewellyn
Collin White
Kristen Yazzie

Barry Badeau
Edgars Plorinsh

Washington State
Zach Moore
Alec Palander

Wayne State College
Ethan Fitzler
Matthew Reeves
Spencer Trout
Hunter Weiss

West Chester
Cameron Dewey
Dan Vossbein

Western Washington
Nathan Swanson-Dinsmore

Williamson College of the Trades
Austin Jacque

Wisconsin/Wisconsin WC
Austin Brown
Maxine Ketter
Daniel Rascher

Alexander Jang
Seth McNay
Batmanlai Ontogtokh
Tyler Petrochko
Andrew Spinelli