University of Wisconsin - Madison 15 v University of Pittsburgh 33       University of Wisconsin - Madison 22 v University of Michigan 33       University of Notre Dame 27 v University of Wisconsin - Madison 23       Dan Gable Endowment Tournament       Camden County College 21 v Rowan University 24       Liberty University 37 v The Apprentice School 9       Middle Tennessee State University 26 v University of Central Florida 21       Grand Valley State University 41 v Marion Military Institute 14       Wayne State College 1 v University of North Florida 0       University of Toledo 27 v University of Florida 33       

A Great Day for Golf, benefiting UTA wrestling

11/01/2010 -

For the eighth year in a row, members of the community came together to enjoy a round of golf at the Grand Oaks Country Club, all while raising money for a very important cause.
The Eighth Annual Larry Aust Memorial Golf Tournament was held on Saturday, October 30, 2010 with four man scramble set up.
"This year's tournament was our most successful ever," said Jeff McCall, UT-Arlington wrestling coach. "We were able to honor a great Texas wrestling pioneer and we raised more money than ever before. It's a great that all these men come out here and play a round of golf to raise money for the Maverick wrestling team. It was an awesome to have Johny Hendricks, current UFC welterweight contender come out and support the event. Johny had wrestled in tournaments such as the Cotton Bowl, that Larry and others started nearly 30 years ago.
Aeron Hill the Maverick asst. coach, said that the tournament was as successful as it's ever been. "I'm very proud of all the men in the community who donated their money and time to play in this event. I can't think of a better excuse to play a round of golf than help these young men achieve their goals.
Just under \$5000.00 was raised from the event, and donations are still coming in, which is the most ever raised in the history of the Larry Aust Memorial.
When it comes to the bragging rights, it was the Poly Trucking team, led by Jesse Raia, who won the trophy, but the real winners will be the UTA Wrestling team with the money that they'll receive from the event.