University of North Texas 18 v The Apprentice School 48       University of Texas at Arlington 18 v The Apprentice School 39       Penn State - Fayette 46 v Penn State - Greater Allegheny 7       University of Maryland / Baltimore County 18 v Penn State - Mont Alto 30       Penn State - Mont Alto 53 v Penn State - Beaver 0       Penn State University - DuBois 38 v Penn State - Mont Alto 14       SUNY / Stony Brook 20 v Yale University 27       Texas State University 10 v University of Texas at Arlington 40       Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute 47 v Clarkson University 6       UCF Open       

WSU Comes away with 3 titles. Wayne State crowns 3 champs.

01/31/2010 -

The Winona State Wrestling Club hosted some of the club wrestling teams in the region in Winona this weekend to highlight the advances many of these clubs have been making in the last couple of years. Teams from Minnesota, Wisconsin and Nebraska convened in the Talbot Gymnasium on the Winona State campus to do battle. Winona State and Wayne State, whose athletic departments are both in the NSIC, tied with three titles each. Winning titles for the Winona State Warriors were Chad Stenson (157, Chisago Lakes MN), Eric Weigel (197, Boscobel WI) and Kristopher Hoffman (235, Plainview-Elgin-Millville). Matching that total for Wayne State was Tanner Thiem (184, Crete NE), Cory Devine (174, Cozad NE) and Myles Butt and Brian Pflanz sharing the title at 165.

Other WSU wrestlers winning matches and placing for the host Warriors were: Aaron Murray 2nd (157, Holmen WI), David Trotter 2nd (174, Brookfield East WI), 40 year old Derek Olson 2nd-2 pins (184, La Crosse Logan WI), Mike Land 3rd-tie at 165 and Wes Moechnig 3rd-tie at 165.

The Winona State wrestling club will finish up its regular season this weekend with a trip to the Eau Claire Blugold Invitational.

The Warriors post season push will start at conference on February 27th at Grand Valley State, with top finishers advancing to the national tournament March 11-13 in Hampton Virginia.
More Information...