2015 West Coast Conference       NCWA Great Plains Conf.       Southwest Conference       Great Lakes Conference       NW Region       NCWA NEC Championships       Southeast Conference       Glendale Community College 42 v University of Arizona 18       Glendale Community College 39 v University of California - Merced 4       Glendale Community College 42 v University of Arizona 18       

MIT finishes in 3rd place at the Northeast Conference Regional

03/06/2014 -

The MIT Wrestling Team finished in 3rd place at the Northeast regional qualifier behind Alfred State and Navy Prep. MIT also qualified 8 wrestlers for the national tournament being held in Allen, Texas from March 13th to March 15th. Senior, Sam Shames won the 133 pound weight class in dominant fashion with 2 pins and a major decision running his record to 35-0. Sam was also voted the Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament. Senior, Jaes Jones won 3 matches on the day making the finals. He lost a hard fought match, finishing in 2nd place at 157 pounds. Senior, Jake Laux also made the finals at 197 pounds. He won his first 3 matches but had to default due to a minor injury. Freshman, Andrew Esquivel lost his first match of the day but roared back winning his next 4 matches, 3 of which were by pin to finish in 3rd place at 125 pounds. Freshman, Levi Russell finished with a 3 and 2 record and a 4th place finish at 157 pounds. Freshman, Joe Lowman won 2 and lost 2 finishing in 4th place at 184 pounds . Senior Max Powers finished in 3rd place at 235 pounds going 3 and 1 on the day. Sophomore, Lawrence Chan finished in 7th place at 197 pounds going 3 and 2 on the day. Senior, Tyler Laprade and freshman, Jose Velarde wrestled well but unfortunately did not place. The team heads to Allen, Texas on Wednesday, March 12th to compete for their 2nd consecutive Division 2 National Team title.