2015 West Coast Conference       NCWA Great Plains Conf.       Southwest Conference       Great Lakes Conference       NW Region       NCWA NEC Championships       Southeast Conference       Glendale Community College 42 v University of Arizona 18       Glendale Community College 39 v University of California - Merced 4       Glendale Community College 42 v University of Arizona 18       


03/23/2013 -

On the 100th anniversary of MIT wrestling, the Engineers won the NCWA Division II National Championship edging out runner-up University of South Carolina. MIT qualified six wrestlers for the tournament and were lead by its captains, senior Ryan Madson and junior Sam Shames.
Ryan capped off an illustrious career becoming the first four-time All-American for MIT by finishing 4th at 157 pounds. He was 4th as a freshman, 2nd as a sophomore and 3rd as a junior. He is one of only 20 wrestlers to be a four-time NCWA All-American. Ryan is the all-time MIT leader in career wins with 145 and ranks 3rd in the history of the NCWA. Ryan has a career record of 145 wins, with 77 by pin, and 20 losses.
Sam Shames capped off a perfect season finishing 31-0 and winning the national title at 125. He won five matches, three by pin, one technical fall and an 11-6 win in the finals. Sam is a three-time All-American, finishing 3rd as a freshman, 2nd as a sophomore and 1st as a junior. Sam has a career record of 103 wins and 8 losses.
Senior Bee Vang finished his career as a four-time NCWA national qualifier and this year was two matches away from a medal. Bee wrestled well. In the last match of his career, Bee was down five points in the 3rd period and fought his way back to lose 8-7 on riding time. Bee finished the season with a record of 12 wins and 11 losses and a career record of 57 wins and 62 losses. Bee has been a pillar of the MIT wrestling team for the last four years
Junior Tyler Laprade qualified for his first national tournament at 174 pounds and finished with 2 wins and 2 losses. Tyler finished with a season record of 14 wins and 12 losses.
1st year wrestlers, Lawrence Chan (197) and Max Powers (235), qualified for their 1st national tournament and gained some valuable experience.
Overall Coach Tom Layte, John Bosco and Reggie Snowden were very happy with how the team competed. The 2013 team title was the 2nd for the program, which won the NCWA Division II National title in 2010. Sam was MITís second national champion following Grant Kadokura (125) in 2010.
Coach Layte was named NCWA Coach of the Year. Earlier Coach Layte was selected as Coach of the Year for the NCWA Northeast Conference and elected Chairman of the Northeast Conference.