2015 West Coast Conference       NCWA Great Plains Conf.       Southwest Conference       Great Lakes Conference       NW Region       NCWA NEC Championships       Southeast Conference       Glendale Community College 42 v University of Arizona 18       Glendale Community College 39 v University of California - Merced 4       Glendale Community College 42 v University of Arizona 18       

Tournament Committee Awards Qualification Bids to Nationals

02/13/2013 -

The National Collegiate Wrestling Association's Tournament Committee has officially announced its apportionment of National Qualification Bids to the now 9 Conferences within the 16-year league. The nine conferences are the Great Lakes (GLC), Great Plains (GPC), Mid-Atlantic (MAC), Mid-East (MEC), Northeast (NEC), Northwest (NWC), Southeast (SEC), Southwest (SWC), and West Coast (WCC). The NCWA moved from 7 conferences to 9 in the off-season to accomplish 2 main goals: 1) better centralize conference tournaments for emerging programs and 2) divide up the "super-conference" formerly known as the North Central Conference that ran from Ohio to North Dakota. This was accomplished by forming 3 new leagues: the GLC, the GPC, and the NWC. Conference tournaments are set to take place on Saturday March 2nd throughout the country as qualification tournaments for the National Championships being contested this year in Allen, Texas from March 14-16th.

Conferences are awarded National Qualifying spots based on their size and strength, which for the first time in recent memory can be said to be spread among 5 power conferences in the GLC, MAC, MEC, NEC, and SEC. Automatic Wild Cards are also being given directly to the Conferences this year to be awarded by the coaches of each league to be handed out as seen fit. In past years, wrestlers would have to apply for a Wildcard position within the National Tournament. This year, those athletes will know that day whether they have a shot at All-American status.

The apportionment for the 2013 NCWA Automatic Bids (per weight class) is as follows:

GLC: 6
GPC: 3
MAC: 6
MEC: 6
NEC: 5
NWC: 1
SEC: 6
SWC: 2
WCC: 2

This represents a total of 37 automatic qualifiers for each weight class. On top of this, 55 NCWA Wildcard spots were awarded and split up between the conferences as such:

GLC: 8
GPC: 6
MAC: 8
MEC: 8
NEC: 5
NWC: 2
SEC: 8
SWC: 5
WCC: 5

Teams expected to compete for Conference Championships and represent a large percentage of the 462 National Qualifying bids (conference favorite*):

Great Lakes Conference (hosted by Lindenwood University - Belleville in Belleville, IL)

Grand Valley State University (MI)*
Illinois State University
Lindenwood University - Belleville (IL)
McKendree University (IL)
Mott Community College (MI)

Great Plains Conference (hosted by Wichita State University in Wichita, KS)

Lindenwood University - St. Charles (MO)*
Northwest Missouri State University
United States Air Force Preparatory School (CO)
Wayne State College (NE)
Wichita State University (KS)

Mid-Atlantic Conference (hosted by Liberty University in Lynchburg, VA)

East Tennessee State University
Liberty University (VA)*
Middle Tennessee State University
The Apprentice School (VA)
University of South Carolina

Mid-East Conference (hosted by Penn College in Williamsport, PA)

Pennsylvania College of Technology
Penn State University - DuBois
Penn State University - Mont Alto
University of Maryland, Baltimore County*
West Chester University of PA

Northeast Conference (hosted by University of New Hampshire in Durham, NH)

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
The State University of New York at Stony Brook
United States Military Academy Preparatory School (NY)
United States Naval Academy Preparatory School (RI)*
University of New Hampshire

Northwest Conference (hosted by Central Washington University in Ellensburg, WA)

Central Washington University
Eastern Washington University
Douglas College (BC)
University of Montana Western*
Western Washington University

Southeast Conference (hosted by Georgia Southern University in Statesboro, GA)

Georgia Southern University
Marion Military Institute (AL)
Mercer University (GA)
University of Central Florida*
University of South Florida

Southwest Conference (hosted by University of Texas at Austin in Austin, TX)

Texas A&M University
Texas State University - San Marcos
University of Texas at Arlington
University of Texas at Austin*
University of Texas - Pan American

West Coast Conference (hosted by California Baptist in Riverside, CA)

California Baptist University*
California State University - Sacramento
College of Southern Nevada
Dixie State College of Utah
University of Utah